> Guide for residents > Education
Taizhou Radio & Television University
Source:Taizhou Information Center 2011-06-14 11:30

Located in the High Education Zone, Taizhou City, Zhejiang Province, Taizhou Radio & Television University (TVUCU) was established by Taizhou Administrative Office in 1979, with its first name being Taizhou Campus of Zhejiang Radio & Television University. In March 1983, it became one of the 85 national radio and television universities and one of the 4 such universities in Zhejiang Province. In 1998, TVUCU was nominated as one of leading universities in Taizhou. In 1999, TVUCU was formally founded and relocated from Linhai to Jiaojiang, the present Taizhou High Education Zone, covering an area of more than 80 mu and a floorage of over 30,000 square meters. Under the administration of the Taizhou Municipal Government and the Education Bureau of Taizhou, TVUCU is guided by The Open University of China (OUC) and Zhejiang Radio & TV University. Now TVUCU is a comprehensive university with seven sub-campuses in Linhai, Wenling, Hangyan, Yuhuan, Tiantai, Sanmen, Xianju, providing modern distance education on the basis of computer, satellite broadcasting and multi-media technology. Professor Wang Qidong, the former Vice Chairman of the People’s Congress of Zhejiang Province, the former Vice President of Zhejiang University, and a supervisor of PHD, is the Honorary President of TVUCU. Li Yi is Secretary of the CPC Committee of TVUCU, while Pan Xiankao is President of TVUCU.


TVUCU provides education in 60 majors from 10 subjects, and offers distance education in 53 majors of Bachelor’s Degree and Master’s Degree by cooperating with Zhejiang University, Renmin University of China, Southeast University, and other 17 famous universities in China. So far, TVUCU has more than 11,000 students studying on campus, more than 52,000 graduates with degrees, and 200,000 graduates without degrees. With a team of 132 high qualified full-time staffs consisting of 2 professors, 28 deputy professors, 79 lecturers, and 116 part-time staffs, TVUCU has built a modern distance education platform relying on first-class computer and multi-media facilities.


In September 2004, Taizhou Community University (TCU) was founded under TVUCU upon approval of the Taizhou Municipal Government and the Taizhou CPC Committee. Meanwhile other counties in Taihzou were encouraged to set up community universities. TCU has provided Software Engineer Training in cooperating with National Institute of Information Technology in India. Besides, TCU and American Ohlone Community University have been sister universities, while TCU and School of Continuing and Professional Studies, CUHK have established a relationship of friendly cooperation schools. In July 2006, the project of “TCU’s Research in Farmers Training Model” won the subsidy of USD10,0000 from America's Ford Foundation.


In 2005, TVUCU passed ISO9001 International Standard. Besides, Constitutional law, Administrative Law, and Computer Science and Technology in TVUCU are rated as Major Subjects of Taizhou High Education by the Municipal Education Bureau. As one of education bases of OUC, Model Education Center of AoPeng Distance Education Public Service System of OUC, one of 20 national model centers for distance education of the Education Ministry of China and one of model sites for Public Service of Distance Education Project of the Technology Ministry of China. Besides, TVUCU is honored as the Advanced Distance Education Unit of Zhejaing Province, the Advanced Distance Education Unit in Moral and Politics Education of Zhejiang Province, the Advanced Distance Education Unit in Technology Research of Zhejiang Province, the Advanced Unit of Taizhou, the Advanced Unit in Sanitation of Zhejiang Province and the Advanced Unit of Zhejiang Province. In June 2010, TVUCU was rated by OUC as one of the first batch of 33 national model radio and television universities.

【Print】 【Close】